I never liked saying goodbye….

One final post on The SAALT Spot (our blog):

As I transition from SAALT (South Asian Americans Leading Together), I wanted to take a minute to do one final blog post as a SAALT Staff Member. I started working at SAALT in August 2007 right after I graduated from the University of Maryland and have been here for almost 2 years as an AmeriCorps VISTA (Volunteers in Service toAmerica) member. AmeriCorps VISTA is the anti-poverty arm of the AmeriCorps program and I feel so lucky to have found this opportunity to put my undergraduate education to use in a way that serves the community.

Over the past few years, I have been privileged to work with so many individuals and organizations in my capacity as the Fundraising and Development Assistan on projects including workshops, trainings, local events, Be the Change, and the 2009 South Asian Summit. In this time, I have not only learned about the South Asian community but about the passionate and inspiring individuals who work each and every day to build this community. Working with SAALT has been an unforgettable experience and one that I will continue to digest as I transition from SAALT.

One of my most memorable experiences (among many) at SAALT was helping to plan the 2009 South Asian Summit – a convening of over 250 individuals from around the country for a weekend of  workshops, networking, and movement-building. After months of planning and poring over every detail of the event, to see it come together was incredible. I feel so fortunate to have been part of this experience and to have played a part in putting together an event that is hopefully a catalyst for moving our community forward. At the Summit, I met so many people who had previously been names on a paper, email addresses, or pictures on a website. To have connected with these amazing people was inspiring beyond belief.

I am committed to staying engaged in this community,the non-profit sector, and the social justice movement.

I would like to thank everyone who I have worked with over the past 2 years at SAALT for helping me to grow both personally and professionally. This has truly been a life-changing experience.

Leave a Reply

