“The people united will never be defeated?”

September 15th- on the Metro after the Anti War protest in Washington DC

So many thoughts. A silver fence divides the “pro-war” and “anti-war”. I don’t even know what to call either side. Aren’t people just people? I want to judge them but I don’t know their story and I am so upset at the idea of people being against peace. Maybe that’s why I stay on the fringe of all of these movements. I believe in the inherent goodness of people and their ability to discern right from wrong. I don’t blame them. I blame the forces that have misled them: fear and the media being two of the strongest. How can one be FOR war? I will never understand this simple concept. At the core of our being there is no room for hatred or enmity. But these are mothers with sons, who have died fighting, and so they are “patriotic.” But what did they die fighting for? THAT is the real issue. “Support the troops. End the War” says my sign. They go hand in hand and this is something that those who are “pro-war” attack us with. It IS possible to support the troops and be against the war. There should be reason for their sons and daughters to be fighting. What are they protecting? I really truly want to understand them and I want to stop thinking of them as a “them”. I want to think of them as individuals instead. But it is so hard. I don’t want their children to ever have to fight. That, in my opinion, is supporting the troops.

The worst part of today was seeing vets and members of the armed forces pitted against each other. Even now, sitting on the Metro, just thinking about it makes me want to cry. I have so much respect and admiration for people who serve and the whole institution (yes, I am the worst liberal ever). To see people within that institution going against each other really makes it hit home for me how serious this situation is. “The people united will never be defeated.” What a lofty goal. If the people who are serving can’t be united, what hope do we have? I don’t know why this is so upsetting all of a sudden. I knew that people were pro-war but I guess in my circles of people I never encountered them. And I just don’t get it. I feel like I am missing a piece of the puzzle and “they” have it. I want to believe in people but how can fighting EVER be the right answer. How?

I leave today’s protest with so many unanswered questions . I don’t doubt my anti-war stance at all but I have finally opened my eyes wide enough to see the other side and it’s more difficult than I ever would have imagined.

n5700839_36070378_6989.jpgn5700839_36070377_6682.jpgn5700839_36070375_6096.jpgn5700839_36070363_2531.jpg

Leave a Reply

