December 28th, 2005

It’s amazing how time flies at home. I know winter break is going to be over before I know it. Too bad I had such high hopes for this winter break- I wanted to make an SAS movie and a scrapbook. Looks like that won’t be happening…oh well, I’ll try my best.

I guess I’m slowly readjusting to home but, surprisingly enough, the most frustrating thing I’ve come across is figuring out how to tell people about Semester at Sea. Well, more like WHAT to tell them.

“So, tell me about your trip!”
Me: ” Umm…it was great” but really thinking ” It was the most amazing 3 months of my life. I still can’t believe I did it. I met so many great people and saw things that I never knew existed. I went skydiving in South Africa, paragliding in Venezuela, planted coconut trees in Brazil, went to a crocodile reserve in Mauritius, visited an HIV/AIDS clinic in India, hiked up to the Golden Rock in Myanmar, went to a school for the blind in Vietnam, saw the 10,000 Buddhas Monastery in Hong Kong, spent time with my host family in Japan, and SO much more.”

” What was your favorite country”
Me: ” I really can’t decide…they were all different.” but really thinking ” I can’t even tell you a favorite experience in each country, let alone a favorite overall country!” Glenn told me a good way to go about this question. He said say it was like high school superlatives- best nightlife, best food, best shopping, most hospitable people, etc.” That’s hard to decide as well!

Sometimes I just don’t feel like talking about it and I don’t know why. I feel like even though some people do want to hear I sound obnoxious as it’s coming out of my mouth. What did she say in Mean Girls? Oh yeah, word vomit. It’s not going to come out like that. I can’t just rattle off my experiences one after the other. They are going to come out slowly and randomly. I don’t know…it’s strange.

I miss the ship. I miss the people. I miss everything about it. It’s SO good to be home but that’s just what it is. HOME. Our trip to Atlantic City and New York was a lot of fun and it’s just what I needed to get back into the swing of things. I did just what I said I would- fell right back into it. I don’t mind though. I kind of feel like I’m leading two different lives. Oh well, we’ll see what happens. You know what…sometimes I feel like I’m the only one missing Semester at Sea. I know it’s not true but I feel like everyone has gone right back into their old lives and although I have too I still miss the ship and the people so much. I still want to call people and talk to them but I feel like I’m being annoying and intruding on their post-SAS lives. It seems like it was a dream. Glenn was right. I look at pictures and wonder if I was really there and actually seeing those things.

December 29th, 2005

I sit at my laptop for hours sorting through and selecting pictures for my SAS movie…all the while wondering if it really happened. Well, Ronak pretty much put it into perspective today when he asked me if anyone was really going to sit down and watch it. I don’t know if I really care though. Maybe I’m making it more for myself. Looking back at all those pictures (and looking at some for the first time because often times I would just upload them and in the hustle and bustle of shiplife I would completely forget to look at them) brings back SO many memories. Arite, back to it otherwise I’ll never finish.

Leave a Reply

